Eleven new experts join WEEE Advisory Body

Posted on 4th January, 2010

As of 1st January 2010 eleven new experts have joined the WEEE Advisory Body, these experts join the ten existing members of the body to be re-appointed.

Business minister Ian Lucas selected the new members back in the beginning of December, amongst them is Lee Marshall, former chairman of the Local Authority Recycling Committee (LARAC).

The WEEE Advisory Body was formed in December 2007 to help steer government policy on WEEE and provide independent advice on the development of the WEEE system following the implementation of the WEEE Directive in the UK.

The new appointments are:

  • Scott Butler – general manager, ERP
  • Lynne Cullis – chief operating officer, The Wastepack Group
  • Richard Davies – chief executive, Gearrs Wales
  • Bill Griffiths – national recycling manager, Viridor
  • Barry Groves OBE – director, Northern Compliance
  • Andrew Hanratty – compliance director, Veolia Environmental Services
  • Adrian Hawkes – director of policy, Valpak
  • Simon Hill – commercial manager (recycling), Wincanton
  • Lee Marshall – senior manager (policy and Waste), Powys county council
  • Claudia Kuss-Tenzer – research and policy programme manager, Waste Watch
  • Eddie Taylor – chief executive (strategy), Lighting Industry Federation

Remaining members of the body are:

  • Peter Caliafas, chairman
  • Julie-Ann Adams – Adams Consulting Services
  • Joy Boyce – head of corporate and environmental affairs, Fujitsu Services
  • Jonathan Gorman – regulatory policy manager, Tesco Stores
  • Gary Griffiths – environmental & quality systems manager, RDC
  • John Holbrow – non-executive chairman, Pollution Monitors
  • Dr Leigh Holloway – environmental consultant, eco3
  • Terry Macguire – chairman and managing director, Computer Remarketing Services
  • Dr Kirstie McIntyre – environmental takeback compliance manager, Hewlett Packard
  • Mark Shelton – waste promotions manager, Donarbon Waste Management